National History

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is a, non-profit organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world.

Founded on January 13, 1913 by twenty-two collegiate women at Howard University, the Sorority is currently a sisterhood of more than 200,000 predominately Black college educated women. This includes over 900 chapters located in the United States, England, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas, and the Republic of Korea.

The major programs of the sorority are based upon the organization’s Five-Point Programmatic Thrust:

  1. Economic Development
  2. Physical and Mental Health
  3. Educational Development
  4. Political Awareness and Involvement
  5. International Awareness and Involvement

Our Founders

Osceola Mccarthy Adams, Marguerite Young Alexander, Winona Cargile, Alexander, Ethel Cuff Black, Bertha Pitts Campbell, Zephyr Chisolm Carter, Edna Brown Coleman, Jessie Mcguire Dent, Fredericka Chase Dodd, Myra Davis Hemmings, Olive Jones, Jimmie Bugg Middleton, Pauline Oberdorfer, Minor, Vashti Turley Murphy, Naomi Sewell Richardson, Mamie Reddy Rose, Eliza Pearl Shippen, Florence Letcher Toms, Ethel Carr Watson, Wertie Blackwell Weaver, Madree Penn White, Edith Motte Young

Chapter History

In the true tradition of our founders, the St. Petersburg Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. has worked diligently to implement Delta’s Five Point Program Thrust during the past 57 years.

February 19, 1961, served as a momentous day in St. Petersburg, Florida. Twenty dedicated women chartered the St. Petersburg Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. Mrs. Cecile Edwards, the Southern Regional Director at that time, was present to take part in this joyous occasion.

The St. Petersburg Alumnae Chapter hold in high esteem those present when this chapter was established. They are: Edith L. Alsup, Eula Williams Bennett, Thelma Watson Booher, Gloria Wartenberry Gant, Martha Ray Griffin, Jennie Young McAdams, Ada Duhart McCray, Helen V. McLean, Emma White Rembert, Essie Manuel Roberts, Jean C. Ramsey, Cinderella Sims, Altamese Gilbert Spearman, Annette Johnson Syrkett, Chrystelle White Stewart, Anna M. Polk Walker, Evie Adams Welch, Clarice Ferguson Werthy, C. Bette Davis-Wimbish, and Mary Harrell Clowers, our charter members.

Click here to read our full chapter history